celebs! hugging! greg!



Take the feed! Subscribe

Get GIH news via Twitter

Follow Greg: Twitter Facebook

Greg on Flickr:

‘Moonlight’ dominates at Independent Spirit Awards – Molly Shannon wins for ‘Other People’

Moonlight had a very, very good day at the Independent Spirit Awards earlier today.

The film won Best Feature, Best Director (Barry Jenkins), Best Screenplay (Jenkins and Tarell Alvin McCraney), Best Cinematography (James Laxton), Best Editing (Nat Sanders and Joi McMillon) and the Robert Altman Award given to a film’s director, cast and its casting director Yesi Ramirez.

Told in three parts, Moonlight is a stunning drama about a young, gay black boy growing up in a poor neighborhood in Miami.

Writer-director Andrew Ahn’s Spa Night received the John Cassavetes Award which is given to a film made for less than $500,000.

The movie tells the story of a young Korean-American man coming to terms with his homosexuality while trying to live up to his parents’ expectations.

‘This is so meaningful that this award is going to a film about a Korean-American immigrant family, about queer Korean-American people,’ Ahn said as he accepted the award.

‘Now more than ever, it’s so important that we support stories told by and about people who are marginalized.’

Also of LGBT interest is the Best Supporting Actress category won by a very deserving Molly Shannon for Other People.

She portrayed the mother of a gay comedy writer whose son returns home to help care for her as she is dying of cancer.

“Cancer has become a part of so many people’s lives,” Shannon said. “I think these stories can be the most necessary kinds of stories to tell.”

The following is a complete list of the winners:

Best Feature:

Moonlight (A24)

Producers: Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, Adele Romanski

Best Director:

Barry Jenkins, Moonlight (A24)

Best Screenplay:

Barry Jenkins, Tarell Alvin McCraney (Story By), Moonlight (A24)

Best First Feature:

The Witch (A24)

Director: Robert Eggers

Producers: Daniel Bekerman, Jay Van Hoy, Lars Knudsen, Jodi Redmond,

Rodrigo Teixeira

Best First Screenplay:

Robert Eggers, The Witch (A24)

John Cassavetes Award (For best feature made under $500,000):

Spa Night (Strand Releasing)

Writer/Director: Andrew Ahn

Producers: David Ariniello, Giulia Caruso, Ki Jin Kim, Kelly Thomas

Best Supporting Female:

Molly Shannon, Other People (Vertical Entertainment)

Best Supporting Male:

Ben Foster, Hell or High Water (CBS Films/Lionsgate)

Best Female Lead:

Isabelle Huppert, Elle (Sony Pictures Classics)

Best Male Lead:

Casey Affleck, Manchester by the Sea (Amazon Studios)

Robert Altman Award:

Moonlight (A24)

Director: Barry Jenkins

Casting Director: Yesi Ramirez

Ensemble Cast: Mahershala Ali, Patrick Decile, Naomie Harris, Alex Hibbert, André Holland, Jharrel Jerome, Janelle Monáe, Jaden Piner, Trevante Rhodes, Ashton Sanders

Best Cinematography:

James Laxton, Moonlight (A24)

Best Editing:

Joi McMillon, Nat Sanders, Moonlight (A24)

Best International Film:

Toni Erdmann (Germany and Romania– Sony Pictures Classics)

Director: Maren Ade

Best Documentary:

O.J.: Made in America (ESPN Films)

Director/Producer: Ezra Edelman

Producers: Deirdre Fenton, Libby Geist, Nina Krstic, Erin Leyden, Tamara Rosenberg, Connor Schell, Caroline Waterlow



(All comments are reviewed before being published, and I review submissions several times per day.)

Leave a Reply