celebs! hugging! greg!



Take the feed! Subscribe

Get GIH news via Twitter

Follow Greg: Twitter Facebook

Greg on Flickr:

Gay and Lesbian Entertainment Critics Association unveils winners of annual Dorian Awards

The Gay and Lesbian Entertainment Critics Association (GALECA) today announced their number-one choices for the best in film and television of 2012.

I’m a member of the group and am happy to see some of the movies, TV shows and performances I voted for made it to the winner’s circle!

The Dorian Award for Film of the Year went to director Ben Affleck’s fact-based C.I.A. adventure, Argo. Daniel Day-Lewis won Film Performance of the Year — Actor for his robust portrayal of Abraham Lincoln in Lincoln. Anne Hathaway was chosen in the female Performance of the Year category for her singing turn as Fantine in the movie version of Les Miserables.

My fellow GALECA’s members deemed Ezra Miller worthy of our We’re Wilde About You Rising Star honor for his portrayal of a bullied gay teen in The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

The  LGBT Film of the Year? Director Ira Sachs drama Keep the Lights On.

In the more unusual film categories, the comic drama Bernie, starring Jack Black as a murderous — but supernice — funeral director, was named Unsung Film of the Year. Channing Tatum’s guy-strippers melodrama Magic Mike and the Zac Efron-starring potboiler The Paperboy tied for the group’s novel Campy Film of the Year title.

On the TV side, the FX network’s wild ghosts tale American Horror Story won for TV Drama of the Year for the second straight year (Story’s “Asylum” edition tied in the category with Showtime’s conspiracy thriller Homeland). The chiller’s star, Jessica Lange, won TV Performance of the Year a second time as well. HBO’s freshman season of the edgy 20-somethings tale Girls won TV Comedy of the Year, while ABC’s Modern Family and NBC’s freshman gay-life satire The New Normal tied for LGBT TV Show of the Year.
In the TV Musical Performance race, Jennifer Hudson bested rivals from Smash and Glee to win for her stirring tribute to Whitney Huston on the Grammys. Campy TV Show of the Year honors went to Lifetime’s biopic Liz & Dick, and the Unsung TV Show award was given to ABC’s loony comedy Happy Endings.

In new categories, GALECA named Ryan Murphy, co-creator of American Horror Story, The New Normal and other seminal TV hits, as Wilde Artist of the Year. Fox’s Life of Pi was the group’s pick for Visually Striking Film of the Year. As for TV or Movie Title of the Year, Don’t Trust the B—- in Apartment 23 bested the likes of I Was Impaled and It’s Christmas, Carol! for that silly, er, title.

The complete list of Dorian Award winners is below. A celebratory toast will be held Sunday, February 17 in Los Angeles. Winners and their representatives are welcome to attend.

For more information, please visit: and



(All comments are reviewed before being published, and I review submissions several times per day.)

Leave a Reply