celebs! hugging! greg!



Take the feed! Subscribe

Get GIH news via Twitter

Follow Greg: Twitter Facebook

Greg on Flickr:

Filmmaker Kimberly Peirce to receive Achievement Award on opening night of Outfest

This is wonderful news: Outfest will present its 17th annual Achievement Award to writer/director Kimberly Peirce (Boys Don’t Cry, Stop-Loss, Carrie).

The Achievement Award is Outfest’s highest honor and is presented in recognition of a body of work that has made a significant contribution to LGBT film and media.

The Achievement Award will be presented to Peirce prior to the Opening Night Gala screening of C.O.G. on Thursday, July 11 at the Orpheum Theatre in Los Angeles.

“One of Outfest’s principal goals has been to celebrate the many voices of LGBT storytelling on film, and we couldn’t be more excited to honor Kimberly Peirce’s extraordinary filmmaking career,” said Outfest Executive Director Kirsten Schaffer.

Outfest has previously given this award to John Waters, Jane Lynch, Bill Condon, Fenton Bailey and Randy Barbato, Don Roos, Donna Deitch, Kenneth Anger, Gregg Araki, Todd Haynes, Jane Anderson, Christine Vachon, Rob Epsteinand Jeffrey Friedman, Gus Van Sant, Ian McKellen, John Schlesinger, and Strand Releasing.



(All comments are reviewed before being published, and I review submissions several times per day.)

One Remark

  1. May 18th, 2013 at 11:12 pm
    Chad Darnell says:

    While I have my own personal feelings about that festival, Kimberly completely deserves this honor. I’m so amazed by her and her talent.

Leave a Reply